BestWelder

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Welder Under $300 (2026): 6 Picks by Stated Details

The ARCCAPTAIN 250A stick welder is the top pick in this guide to the best welder under $300: it states the highest top output of the six machines compared on stated details and live prices. The list covers stick, pulse TIG and gasless flux core wire welders, with the ordering set by stated amps and named features, never by guessing at duty cycle or weld quality. Each listing is compared on what its title actually states.

6 picks from 6 welders that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 14 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.

The picks at a glance

Which one should you buy?

  • For farm and fence repair: A stick welder with a stated 250A top output suits repair jobs where coated electrodes are the simplest route to an arc. The ARCCAPTAIN 250A sits at the top of this list on that stated figure. See pick 1
  • For a home garage with one machine for several processes: A dual voltage TIG welder with pulse in the title leaves one machine for shop and portable jobs without a second power source. The TIG 205P Pro states both details. See pick 3
  • For gasless repair without bottles: A flux core gasless listing skips shielding gas tanks for outdoor or garage repair, as the Forney Easy Weld 262 title states. It is the only MIG-filed machine in this price window. See pick 6
  • For a first TIG machine with stick backup: A 205A DC TIG listing with pulse and stick modes in the same title gives a starting TIG buyer pulse and a stick route without a second purchase. The YESWELDER 205P carries all three names. See pick 2

The 6 picks

1 Highest stated amps in this list

ARCCAPTAIN 250A Stick Welder

ARCCAPTAIN 250A Stick Welder

Welding process
Stick
Max output
250 A
Input voltage
240V

$229.99 price as of 2026-10-13 12:29 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

This stick welder ranks first because it states the highest top output in the pool at 250A. The listing also names Lift TIG alongside MMA, so one machine covers stick and scratch start TIG work. Its 240V input is stated, which matters for buyers planning a fixed shop supply.

Pros

  • 250A top output stated in the title
  • Lift TIG mode stated beside MMA
  • 240V input recorded for this listing
  • 10 rods named in the listing

Cons

  • 240V input only; dual voltage is not stated
  • No pulse stated
  • Single process: stick with Lift TIG only

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want the highest stated amp output in this price window
  • Repair work where stick electrodes are the intended route

Skip if

  • Buyers who need a machine that states both 120V and 240V input
  • Buyers looking for a wire-feed MIG machine

Verdict: The ARCCAPTAIN 250A leads this list on its stated 250A output and brings Lift TIG in the same listing.

2 Only pulse welder here with stated amps

YESWELDER 205A Tig Welder Pulse STICK/DC TIG/PULSE TIG 3 in 1 TIG-205P

YESWELDER 205A Tig Welder Pulse STICK/DC TIG/PULSE TIG 3 in 1 TIG-205P

Welding process
TIG
Max output
205 A
Pulse
Yes

$219.99 price as of 2026-10-13 12:29 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

Ranks second by stated amps at 205A, after the 250A stick welder. It adds a pulse mode to a DC TIG listing, plus a stick mode in the same title, so it offers two processes from one machine. The pool order places it before the no-amps listings.

Pros

  • 205A top output stated
  • Pulse stated in the listing
  • DC TIG and stick modes named in the same title

Cons

  • Input voltage not stated
  • No aluminum statement in the title
  • No dual voltage stated

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want pulse on a DC TIG machine in this price window
  • A first TIG machine with stick backup in the same listing

Skip if

  • Buyers who need a stated input voltage before ordering
  • Buyers who prefer a MIG or flux core wire-feed machine

Verdict: The YESWELDER 205P ranks second for combining a stated 205A and pulse on a DC TIG listing.

3 Dual voltage with pulse stated

ARCCAPTAIN TIG 205P Pro Pulse Welder

ARCCAPTAIN TIG 205P Pro Pulse Welder

Welding process
TIG
Input voltage
Dual voltage
Pulse
Yes

$279.99 price as of 2026-10-13 12:29 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

This ARCCAPTAIN listing states dual voltage and pulse, giving it two named yes details even though the title never prints an amp figure. That places it above the other no-amps machines in this list. The TIG 205P Pro title also names Lift TIG alongside DC TIG.

Pros

  • Dual voltage stated in the title
  • Pulse stated in the title
  • Lift TIG named alongside DC TIG

Cons

  • Top amps not stated in the title
  • No aluminum statement
  • Process filed as TIG only

Good fit if

  • Buyers who need a machine that states both 120V and 240V input
  • Buyers who want pulse without a separate control box, as the title names it

Skip if

  • Buyers who want a stated amp figure before ordering
  • Buyers who need stick or MIG modes named in the title

Verdict: The TIG 205P Pro ranks third on its stated dual voltage and pulse, despite leaving amps unstated.

4 Dual voltage stated on a TIG listing

ARCCAPTAIN TIG 205 Pro Welder

ARCCAPTAIN TIG 205 Pro Welder

Welding process
TIG
Input voltage
Dual voltage

$249.99 price as of 2026-10-13 12:29 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

Ranks fourth because it states dual voltage, one yes detail, while the TIG 205P Pro above it adds pulse as a second detail. The listing names 120/240V in the title and files as TIG, making it the second dual voltage TIG pick in the list.

Pros

  • Dual voltage stated in the title
  • 120/240V written in the title
  • TIG process stated in the title

Cons

  • Top amps not stated
  • No pulse stated
  • Process filed as TIG only

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want dual voltage on a TIG machine without a pulse mode
  • Buyers who need a stated input voltage in the title

Skip if

  • Buyers who want pulse stated in the title
  • Buyers who want a stated amp figure

Verdict: The TIG 205 Pro ranks fourth with dual voltage stated and pulse left out of the listing.

5 Stick welder from an established maker

ESAB® HandyArc 1/8" Stick Welder

ESAB® HandyArc 1/8" Stick Welder

Welding process
Stick

$219.15 price as of 2026-10-13 12:29 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

Ranks fifth: the listing states no amp figure and no yes details, so it falls after the dual voltage TIG machines. The ESAB HandyArc is a stick welder titled for 1/8 inch electrodes, which the seller names in the listing. Its position reflects the ordering rule, not any comparison of output.

Pros

  • Stick process stated in the title
  • 1/8 inch electrode size named in the listing
  • Brand listed as ESAB

Cons

  • Top amps not stated
  • Input voltage not stated
  • Single process only

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a stick welder from an established maker in this price window
  • Electrode work where 1/8 inch rods are the seller's stated size

Skip if

  • Buyers who want a stated amp figure
  • Buyers who need TIG or MIG modes

Verdict: The ESAB HandyArc takes fifth place as a stick-only listing without a stated amp figure.

6 Gasless flux core MIG in the list

Forney Easy Weld 262 141 FC-i Flux Core Gasless Wire Welder

Forney Easy Weld 262 141 FC-i Flux Core Gasless Wire Welder

Welding process
MIG

$259.99 price as of 2026-10-13 12:29 UTC (Details)

View on Amazon

Ranks last in this pool: the listing states no amps and no yes details, and it comes after the ESAB stick welder in pool order. The Forney Easy Weld 262 is the only MIG-filed machine here, named as a flux core gasless wire welder. That gives it a distinct place even at the bottom of the order.

Pros

  • Flux core gasless wire welding stated in the title
  • MIG process filed for this listing
  • Easy Weld name in the listing from Forney

Cons

  • Top amps not stated
  • Input voltage not stated
  • No pulse or dual voltage stated

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a wire-feed machine without gas bottles, as the listing states gasless
  • Home and garage repair where a flux core title is the stated route

Skip if

  • Buyers who want a stated amp figure
  • Buyers who want TIG or stick modes

Verdict: The Forney Easy Weld 262 closes the list as the only gasless flux core MIG listing, with amps unstated.

Side by side

#WelderWelding processMax outputInput voltageAluminum weldingPulsePlasma cutter included
1ARCCAPTAIN 250A Stick WelderStick250 A240Vnot statednot statednot stated
2YESWELDER 205A Tig Welder Pulse STICK/DC TIG/PULSE TIG 3 in 1 TIG-205PTIG205 Anot statednot statedYesnot stated
3ARCCAPTAIN TIG 205P Pro Pulse WelderTIGnot statedDual voltagenot statedYesnot stated
4ARCCAPTAIN TIG 205 Pro WelderTIGnot statedDual voltagenot statednot statednot stated
5ESAB® HandyArc 1/8" Stick WelderSticknot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
6Forney Easy Weld 262 141 FC-i Flux Core Gasless Wire WelderMIGnot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated

How we picked

This price guide draws on a pool of six priced listings, each priced within the window of this guide. Every machine is compared on stated details and live prices: the process named in the title, the top output in amps when the listing prints an A, the input voltage when stated, and any aluminum, pulse or plasma cutter wording. The picks are ordered by stated amps from highest to lowest; listings that state no amps come after those that do. Ties are broken by the number of stated yes details among pulse, dual voltage, aluminum and plasma cutter, then by the order of the pool file. Nothing is read into a title, and the guide never covers cheaper machines. Prices are printed live by the page.

How to choose

MIG, TIG, stick or multi-process

Each process feeds the arc differently. MIG and flux core machines feed a wire from a spool, a gasless flux core title skips shielding gas, TIG uses a tungsten torch with a separate filler rod, and stick uses coated electrodes. Read the process word in a listing first, because a machine titled for one process does not state the others unless the title says so.

What the amps on a title mean

When a listing prints a number with A, Amp or Amps, that is the top output the seller states, such as 250A on the ARCCAPTAIN stick welder and 205A on the YESWELDER TIG. Higher stated amps means the maker rates the machine for more output. Listings that never print an amp figure are noted as not stated by the seller, and they rank after the ones that do in this guide.

120V, 240V or dual voltage: read the title, then the manual

The input voltage is what the listing states, and nothing more. This pool holds one stick welder with a 240V input recorded and two TIG listings that state dual voltage, one printing 120V/240V and one printing 120/240V. The other three listings do not state an input voltage. Match any machine to the supply the maker's manual names and follow local electrical rules; this guide never claims a machine plugs into a particular outlet.

Aluminum and pulse words on a listing

Pulse appears in two titles here: the YESWELDER 205A and the ARCCAPTAIN TIG 205P Pro. Makers describe pulse as a mode that varies the current, and the guide reports only that a listing names it. No listing in this pool names aluminum welding, so aluminum is not stated by the seller for any pick.

What this guide leaves out (and why)

The catalogue holds no data on duty cycle, weld thickness, bead appearance, arc stability or durability. This guide compares machines only on stated details and live prices, and it does not guess at performance. For duty cycle limits and safe use, follow the maker's manual and local electrical rules.

Questions

Does this guide cover duty cycle, weld quality or safety?

No. The catalogue has no data for duty cycle, weld thickness, bead appearance or safety performance, so this guide does not guess at them. The picks are compared on stated details and live prices only. The maker's manual is the place for duty cycle limits and safe operation, along with local electrical rules.

Why is the ARCCAPTAIN 250A the top pick?

It is the only listing in this price window that states a 250A top output, the highest amp figure among the six machines. The title also names Lift TIG beside MMA stick welding, so one listing covers stick and a scratch start TIG mode. That combination of stated details ranks it first under the ordering rule.

What does dual voltage in a title mean for the buyer?

A dual voltage listing states that the machine accepts 120V and 240V input. Two ARCCAPTAIN TIG listings in this pool carry that wording, one printing 120V/240V and one printing 120/240V. The guide reports the wording as stated, and the reader should match the machine to the supply the maker's manual names.

Are any picks below the lower bound of this guide?

No. This guide covers only machines priced within the window of this guide, and it does not include cheaper machines. The pool was selected from listings in that window, and every pick falls inside it. The page prints each live price with its clock time for verification.

Why do some listings show no amp figure?

The amps field is recorded only when the seller's title prints a number with A, Amp or Amps. The ESAB HandyArc, Forney Easy Weld 262 and both ARCCAPTAIN TIG 205 machines do not state amps, so the guide marks them as not stated by the seller and ranks them after the machines that do state amps.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related guides